MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



2012
STANDARD
SPECIFICATIONS
FOR
CONSTRUCTION



MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

LANSING, MICHIGAN

Transportation Commission:

Jerrold M. Jung, Chairman Linda Miller Atkinson Charles F. Moser James S. Scalici Ted B. Wahby Todd A. Wyett

Kirk T. Steudle, Director

April 1, 2011

The following MDOT publications are included by reference in these Standard Specifications as if the same were repeated herein in their entirety:

Field Manual of Soil Engineering (out of print)
Materials Quality Assurance Procedures Manual
Michigan Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices
Michigan Test Methods
Procedures for Aggregate Inspection
Procedures Manual for Mix Design Processing
Road and Bridge Standard Plans
HMA Production Manual
Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control Manual
Density Testing and Inspection Manual
Work Zone Safety and Mobility Manual

Copies of these standard specifications and publications are available through the MDOT Publications Office by telephone (517-322-1676) or by e-mail (MDOT-Publications@michigan.gov)

FOREWORD

The 2012 Standard Specifications for Construction is the standard for the basic requirements governing the materials, equipment and methods used in construction contracts administered by the Michigan Department of Transportation.

General Chair - Judy A. Ruszkowski Engineer of Specifications - David Pawelec

Division 1 General Provisions - Co-chairs: Brenda O' Brien, Randy Van Portfliet, Mark Chaput

Jill Mullins - Finance James Shell - Attorney General David Pawelec - C&T Pete Pfeiffer - Southwest Larry Strzalka - Design Phillip Lynwood - FHWA

Division 2 Earthwork - Co-chairs: Dave Gauthier, Kurt Coduti

Dave Phillips - Grand Nick VanWoert - Southwest Dave Tallon - North Kurt Zachary - FHWA

Division 3 Bases - Co-chairs: Mike Eacker, Mark Grazioli

Dan Kari - Superior Channing Page - University
Bill Erben - Metro Bob Conway - FHWA
Al Robords - C&T

Division 4 Drainage - Co-chairs: Mark Van Port Fleet, Gary Karttunen

Pete Jansson - C&T Drew Senters - Southwest Victor Judnic - Metro Mark Lewis - FHWA

Division 5 HMA Pavements and Surface Treatments - Co-chairs: Curtis Bleech, Steve Palmer

Karl Koivisto - Grand Kevin Kennedy - C&T Paul Ajegba – Metro Julie Van Portfliet - Superior

Bob Conway - FHWA

Division 6 Portland Cement Concrete for Pavements - Co-chairs: John Staton, Bob Ranck

Mark Melchiori - University Joseph Tejkl - C&T Rich LaPalm - Metro Bob Conway - FHWA

Steve Bower - University

Division 7 Structures - Co-chairs: Roger Till, Eric Burns

Al Hagen - C&T Steve Beck - Design Steve Cook - C&T Steve Wohlscheid - C&T Richard Endres - C&T Ryan Snook - C&T Terry Johnson - University Pete Jansson - C&T Tim Stallard - C&T Jennifer Transue - Design Jon Nekritz - FHWA Jeff Weiler - C&T

Bryon Beck - C&T

Division 8 Incidental Construction - Co-chairs: Mark Bott, Brad Wieferich

Jeff Bigelow - University Jack Hofweber - Bay Carlos Libiran - Design Brian Zimmerman - Operations Jeff Grossklaus - Metro Tom Killingsworth - C&T Jeff Bokovoy - Design Steve Urda - Design Deidre Thompson - Operations

Alonzo Uzcategui - Operations

Doug Adelman - Operations

Jill Morena - Operations Lynette Firman - Operations Lynn Lynwood - Design Tim Smith - Metro Bob Zielinski - Design Brian Dollman-Jersey - Design Ray Olsen - Operations Erin O'Brien - Operations Dave Calabrese - FHWA

Division 9 Materials - Coordinator: John Staton

Brenda J. O'Brien, Engineer of Construction & Technology John C. Friend, Director, Bureau of Delivery Mark A. Van Port Fleet, Director, Bureau of Development Gregory C. Johnson, Chief Engineer

The time and effort contributed by members of the specification committees representing the Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association, Asphalt Paving Association of Michigan, Michigan Concrete Association, Michigan Aggregates Association, Michigan Road Preservation Association and Associated Consulting Engineers Council are also appreciated.

Kirk T. Steudle, Director

Michigan Department of Transportation

Jul 7. Stendle